Trinity College of Engineering, Kerala Students Develop TASSAT Satellite Project

Trinity College of Engineering, Kerala Students Develop TASSAT Satellite Project

Trinity College of Engineering has started an innovative initiative, where the student and faculty will launch a satellite project titled TASSAT, which is aimed for completion by 2018.

“With so many of ISRO divisions and Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC) located here it has become a natural space science city. So, a student satellite programme is the perfect fit to rally the resources of any engineering educational institution,” said Arun Surendran, strategic director of the Trinity Engineering College.

“We visited the Nanyang Technological University to have a complete understanding of undertaking such an ambitious project. They have a sustainable programmr and have been continuously launching their satellites from India using ISRO’s reliable workhorse PSLV,” he said.

Mr M C Dathan - Former director, Vikram Sarabhai Space Center, Part-1

Mr M C Dathan
Former Director***, Vikram Sarabhai Space Center, Trivandrum

Madhavan Chandradathan is an Indian space researcher and the leader of the launch authorization board of the Chandrayaan-1 space project. The Government of India respected him, in 2014, by granting him the Padma Shri, the fourth most noteworthy regular citizen grant, for his commitments to the fields of science and innovation. He graduated in chemical engineering from the Government Engineering College, Thrissur in 1971 and secured a graduate degree (M.Tech) from the Birla Institute of Technology in 1985. Chandradathan began his career in 1972, by joining the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) where he worked for the SLV-3 venture, the development of solid propellant formulations.Later, Chandradathan took up the task of creating rocket spouts basically for solid engines. He turned into the leader of the ablative nozzle production unit in 2000, where he stayed till 2004.


Amid this period, his group added to the flex nozzle for the S200 engine and the S200 booster for the GSLV Mk-III venture. He was elevated to Chief Executive of the Solid Propellant Plant (SPROB) for the PSLV and GSLV supporters. In this position, Chandradrathan administered the foundation of new Solid Propellant Plant (SPP), which was commissioned in 2008.In 2008 he additionally served as executive of Satish Dawan Space Center(SDSC).In January 2013, he turned into the Director of the Liquid Propulsion Systems Center (LPSC),and now he is Director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Center (VSSC) since 2014 June.

New directors for major ISRO centres

New directors for major ISRO centres

ISRO has named new directors for three major centres. Dr K Sivan, Scientist and Director, Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC), Thiruvananthapuram will take charge as Director, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), Thiruvananthapuram.

He graduated from Madras Institute of Technology in Aeronautical Engineering in 1980 and took his Master’s degree in Aerospace Engineering from the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore in 1982.

Related Articles